.

Brookhaven's First Court Judges to be Nominated, Sworn In

Patch previews Tuesday night's city council and zoning board of appeals meetings.


The Brookhaven City Council and Zoning Board of Appeals are set to meet Tuesday night, Feb. 12, in Lupton Hall at Oglethorpe University.

Administrative items dominate the city council's agenda, including ordinances regarding alcoholic beverage appeals and the issuance of business licenses.

A discussion of Mayor J. Max Davis' budget is also on the agenda.

Also on the agenda are Davis' nominations for muncipal court judge. If approved by the council, the judges are set to be sworn in on Tuesday night as well.

This past week, Davis swore in several DeKalb police officers who are now authorized to write tickets and issue citations in Brookhaven until the city's police department is up and running, likely to be in mid-2013. 

The council is also set to approve an estimated budget for building out the city's municipal court.

Related Items:

DeKalb Officers Authorized to Write Tickets for City of Brookhaven

Davis Proposes $15.7 Million Budget for Brookhaven

Patch's Complete Coverage of the Brookhaven City Council

FreddieK February 11, 2013 at 02:51 PM
I find it terribly strange that police forces are no longer looked upon as protectors of residents & property, rather, as revenue generating agents for a city. Why else would the Mayor swear in officers before a real police department is formed who can "write tickets and issue citations". So much for justice. This new city seems to be beginning with a truly warped sense of priorities. First Strip clubs legislation, now pseudo-police whose singular purpose is to generate monies for the city.
Brookhaven4u February 11, 2013 at 03:51 PM
Well when you claim a $26 to $28 Million but only have $15.7 (Actualy 1st year projections) million revenue, additional revenue source is important for this city. In the runnup to the cityhood vote, I'm sure it slipped B'Yes mind that when the proclaimed the CVI conservative revenue estimates was for some budget year outside of year 1. We trusted them on the vote for Cityhood. Now we just need to trust them that Year 2 will be the year the CVI projections hit reality.
There you go again February 11, 2013 at 04:50 PM
In order for Dekalb Police to be able to protect residents and property with the full force of the law they have to be qualified to do so, that is why they were sworn in. They are now qualified to testify in Brookhaven's municipal court. If a resdident is barreling down your neighborhood street speeding and high on drugs their case will now be heard in Brookhaven's court. But of course you take an uniformed cheap shot as per usual FreddieK. The CVI report also noted that the 1st year budget would be significantly less as revenue and services would not be fully utilized in year one and nobody that I recall claimed anything different. Brookhaven4U, you didn't "trust" anybody from B'Yes so why are you claiming you did?
Brookhaven4u February 11, 2013 at 05:11 PM
There There There, I do believe that DeKalb Published a report showing that the Property Tax would show the city of Brookhaven would start in the Whole. It was in turn that a Pres. ByYesser stated at the Oglethorpe Debate that the city would start with over a $2 million surplus because of a Increased Host Credit? $25 million CVI plus $2 million Suplus is??? Somehow my math does not come out to the $15.7 Million. While I agree that I never trusted the CVI study. I have many neighbors asking what happend to the $25 Million. I never heard anyone (ByYeser, NoCity, or CVI Study) claiming tha 1st year revenue would be $15.7 Million. I'm sure we will get the projected revenue in year 2 or if not in year 2, I'm sure year 3. Than maybe somewhere down the line can get the lower taxes.
Jack of Kings February 11, 2013 at 05:43 PM
The budget is for $15.7 Million. It remains to be seen if the revenue is higher--which I bet it will be. But it makes sense to budget assuming a lower amount. Something Washington, DC should learn.
Enuff Govt Already February 11, 2013 at 06:01 PM
@There you go again..."In order for Dekalb Police to be able to protect residents and property with the full force of the law they have to be qualified to do so, that is why they were sworn in"..Are you trying to hint that they weren't doing there job before this swearing in? The city/mayor's statement's about the reason for the swearing in, "to keep slick lawyers at bay". Whatever that means. But when they were pressed alittle further the city/mayor tried to walk back their comment and had to concede that the county officers already had jurisdiction in the city. Finally an honest answer emerged, "For now, the money collected will continue to go to the county. In late February, when Brookhaven’s municipal court is established, the funds will stay in the city." Sadly it looks like our newly elected look at a police department as a revenue generator. It makes me wonder just how impartial a city court will be? http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/local/brookhaven-mayor-swears-dekalb-officers/nWJds/ Did anyone else notice there were more DeKalb cops sworn in than the new city will be able to afford; here comes the downgrade in our police service.
don Gabacho February 11, 2013 at 06:05 PM
don Gabacho 12:55 pm on Monday, February 11, 2013 "In order for Dekalb Police to be able to protect residents and property with the full force of the law they have to be qualified to do so, that is why they were sworn in."---There You Go Again No matter the pretext: "This past week, Davis [already and, apprently, alone] swore in several DeKalb police officers who are now authorized to write tickets and issue citations in Brookhaven until the city's police department is up and running, likely to be in mid-2013." Moreover: "Also on the agenda are Davis' nominations for muncipal court judge. If approved by the council, ***the judges are set to be sworn in on Tuesday night as well.***" We are not only to have no say in who is to police us (and when) but also who is to judge us (and where). Because a slngle person simply makes it so. I wonder who is to be appointed even "judge(s)"? Dax Lopez? Shawn LaGrua? The fellow who swore Davis and Conselpersons in? Or their equivelents? Obligating them, despite the MxGov being allowed to involve itself in our own elections, referendums, police forces and courts, to protect and defend the Constitution of the US? Has even one of the city conselors even protested this outrage? Even its sheer suddeness serving to further excldue those who are to be policed and judged? "Welcome to *corporatist* governance."
don Gabacho February 11, 2013 at 08:59 PM
"Are you trying to hint that they weren't doing there job before this swearing in?"---Enuff Gov Already Coudn't they have been? At least in doing their jobs for those who may have hired them before? As in the "20 to 22" officers enrolled in the secret security force for an especially (pre)eminent (now) City of Brookhaven neighborhood? "The city/mayor's statement's about the reason for the swearing in, "'to keep slick lawyers at bay'". By a lawyer himself so unslick to have been a member of the supposed "citizen commttees" pretending a public mandate for the City of Brookhaven? "Sadly it looks like our newly elected look at a police department as a revenue generator." And not this city government's enforcers also? "It makes me wonder just how impartial a city court will be?" It doesn't make me wonder. Has the city published a list---by name and rank---- of the officers sworn in? Or is that again not in the realm of the public's need to know? "Did anyone else notice there were more DeKalb cops sworn in than the new city will be able to afford [?]" Has anyone ever noticed just how responsible---even independent---the new city officials, who were also "public citizen" committee members, have ever been of other people's money? "...here comes the downgrade in our police service..." To say the least.
Eddie E. February 11, 2013 at 10:03 PM
Odd Post Has Brookhaven Municipal Court been given some special access to cases that would normally be tried in State Court? If a driver were caught speeding and 'high on drugs', it would become a State Court offense and not be tried in a municipal court (Broke-haven's or any other municipalities').
There you go again February 12, 2013 at 02:24 AM
Eddie, Speeding and Dui's are misdemeanors and a city has jurisdiction over misdemeanors. Donnny g Davis was not alone- there were council members, media and photographers present. Enuff I believe the officers sworn in were any the 100 or so officers in the entire north precinct which is more than twice the size of Brookhaven. I forget, what is half of 100? Since Dekalb doesn't practice community based policing, officers aren't always regularly assigned to particular neighborhoods. That means anyone of them could be one of the few (3 or 4 on a generous shift ) that could be patrolling Brookhaven at any given time. Your old misinformed premise just ends up highlighting the deficiency of your old argument and the bureaucratic inefficiency and lack of police coverage that Brookhaven has been subject to.
HamBurger February 12, 2013 at 12:43 PM
Ms. TYGA, you continue to regurgitate the old Brookhaven Yes propaganda and show no real knowledge of police coverage in Brookhaven. Maybe you should read the Commission report relating to developing a police department and the supporting documents? You might be surprised with their findings and recommendations. Special hamburger and a Cheerwine?
Enuff Govt Already February 18, 2013 at 08:15 PM
We were told DeKalb Police would be issuing tickets to enforce Brookhaven oridances and the city court was going to open around the 18th. Then I read the following from th self appointed organ, The Brookhaven Post. "One big reason Municipal Court Operations cannot begin just yet is that the Georgia Bureau of Investigation must inspect and certify that the court meets GCIC (Georgia Crime Information Center) compliance and issue the Municipal Court an ORI (Originating Reporting Identifier) number, said Clockadale. Additionally, the City of Brookhaven has to supply the DeKalb County Police Officers with ticket books and those will be printed and distributed shortly. Once Brookhaven’s GCIC number is received a Court calendar will need to be established and then the City of Brookhaven Municipal Court will be ready to hear cases". Looks like even NEW govts can't be honest with the public. As I read this the cops and code enforcement are not writing tickets because there is NO court system yet. Why the pomp and circumstance with that event with the county police? To keep "slick lawyers at bay" and who told WSB " the officers can write (Brookhaven) tickets as of Thursday (Feb 7, 2013)"? Why would a new city be so misleading on this issue?
HamBurger February 18, 2013 at 11:57 PM
Mr. EGA, the polite, short answer to your question is because they are just plain incompetent. Nothing more, nothing less. Government is a very involved public management system and you just do not learn it over night. Folks go to institutions of higher education for degrees in the various facets of government to insure they are the top of their peers in their craft for a career in public service. Then they seek employment for actual experience. What we have in Brookhaven is a bunch of “experts” that “think” they have a “clue” at running a HOA and created a new city in fast fashion so they could utilize their “HOA management skills” in running their new city because they refuse to organize and reform their county government and school system. Look at how much Attorney Bill Riley is consulted shows you how clueless your mayor actually is. Just think if you were privy to their private conversations! Plus, just watch Rebecca Chase Williams for insight into her vast governmental experience. You know about all of the new mayoral volunteer appointees just recently appointed, most with their well known associations with C$ND and Brookhaven Yes, they are equally ignorant of government workings and they are going to cost the city, citizens, and businesses money. But, that is OK, welcome to their amateur city! Yet if you try this on them, hold on to your wallet! Please pass the yellow mustard!
HamBurger February 19, 2013 at 12:11 AM
Mr. EGA, please see my comment to you earlier this month. Apparently, you did not take my suggestions seriously. http://tinyurl.com/amaxemd Would you like a special hamburger with thin sliced onions, pickles, yellow mustard, and a Cheerwine?
Jack of Kings February 19, 2013 at 01:52 AM
You tell him, HamBurger! "Folks go to institutions of higher education for degrees in the various facets of government to insure they are the top of their peers in their craft for a career in public service. Then they seek employment for actual experience." It takes talent, skills and education to be able to govern like Burrell Ellis and Vernon Jones. They are not amateurs. They are professionals--or professional somethings. LOL
HamBurger February 19, 2013 at 02:22 AM
Mr. Phil, I do not disagree with you about what horrid elected administrators that Mr. Vernon and Mr. Burrell have been. However, these men worked within the system that we all should have organized together, changed, and eliminated folks like them. But, that is not your point, is it? You just like stalking me! You still busy film-flaming folks in the market? Since markets were closed today, planning strategy for tomorrow? Please pass the yellow mustard!
Jack of Kings February 19, 2013 at 02:59 AM
You flatter yourself, HamBurger. I could care less about stalking you. I would have to be interested in your opinions. But after reading 1857 posts by you over the past twelve months I have come to the conclusion that many here share-- you contribute little but post much. I must admit you are consistent--consistently misled and misleading. Hope you get that job you are seeking...posting 50 times a day on Patch must not rate high on Maslow's Heirarchy of Needs. Good Luck. I wish you well in your future endeavors.
HamBurger February 19, 2013 at 03:05 AM
Mr. Phil, and, you continue to stalk me . . . Share some good news about Brookhaven for the readers here . . . Have any? What about the conflicts before the city council at present? Or, had you rather not? Ready for your special hamburger and a Cheerwine?
SouthDrewValley February 21, 2013 at 02:17 PM
One Planning Commission member, John Hess, continually violates DeKalb code (now Brookhaven code). He calls them "silly" within a neighborhood discussion group. Repeated emails calling for John Hess' dismissal have been sent to the mayor of Brookhaven, and related staff, with all going unanswered. Brookhaven code enforcement has failed to site this person for his code violation (despite being reported to them), and he was previously sited by DeKalb county and failed to comply. Well, he is now a city official, so he can break the rules. Shame on the new city of Brookhaven.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »