.

Gannon Responds To Brookhaven Ethics Complaint

The complaint was officially made early Friday afternoon.


UPDATE at 6:32 pm: Commissioner Kathie Gannon's office issued the following statement in regard to BrookhavenYES' ethics complaint against DeKalb County. Her statement concerns Davis Fox, a staffer who engaged in a series of emails with other elected and appointed officials, over the issue of Brookhaven cityhood:

"Mr. Fox's title is policy and projects manager. As such, he analyzes issues. He has no authority or ability to implement recommendations. He is an analyst, not a decision-maker. It is absurd to draw broad conclusions from any number of things he may have written about any of a number of issues."

*****

UPDATE at 2:13 pm: DeKalb County says it has not engaged in a political process in the debate over Brookhaven incorporation.

Responding to BrookhavenYES' ethics complaint against the county that was filed early Friday afternoon, DeKalb spokesman Burke Brennan issued this statement:

"DeKalb County has been in receipt of several hundred emails concerning the Brookhaven issue, including some that have requested specific information.  DeKalb County has not engaged itself in a political process, however, it has responded to requests for information and service delivery, as usual. The County has also attempted to offer facts to citizens about the real cost of providing services and capital improvements to various parts of the county."

*****

BrookhavenYES has filed a complaint with the Georgia Government Transparancy and Finance Commission, formally charging that DeKalb County has allegedly been using taxpayer-funded resources and personnel to defeat  pro-cityhood efforts.

“We first started filing open records requests to the county back in late June,” J. Max Davis, chairman of BrookhavenYES, told Patch. “There have just been too many instances in which the county seems to have been colluding with cityhood opponents over talking points and press releases and press conferences.”

At the heart of the complaint are a series of emails that BrookhavenYES says it obtained through open records requests to the county. One e-mail sent by Davis Fox, a staffer of , to Commissioner Jeff Rader and other DeKalb personnel, appears to outline a series of steps and talking points that can be used to support cityhood opponents.

The emails obtained by BrookhavenYES are attached to this article, along with a copy of the official complaint filed against DeKalb County.

“These emails that we’ve obtained are just the tip of the iceberg,” Davis said. “DeKalb has been claiming exemptions on some of the others that we’ve requested, but we believe they’re holding back the most damaging ones until the election is over and it’s too late.”

Patch has contacted Gannon’s office for a reply, but had not received one at the time of this posting.

Stay with Patch throughout the day as updates become available.

Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 08:19 AM
Don Juan de Gespatcho... Congratulations on being the illigetimate love child of Daddie Eddie & Hamburgular too... Perhaps a late night walk across Buford Hwy in a dimly lit area gulping your gin, vodka, tequila sports drink would be a nice adventure for you... The CVS has your ticket at Will Call...
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 08:25 AM
Hey Dumb Butt de Gespatcho.... The spelling of belligerence is belligerence NOT "belligerance"... Now that the spelling issue is settled let me assure you that regardless of the word's spelling, you fit the profile of a belligerent person to the "T"
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 08:31 AM
Love Child Gespatcho... It seems as though your intense infatuation of Mike Jacobs has turned you so delusional that you find the need to associate everyone with him... So sorry to disappoint you but I don't know the man and in fact have not mentioned his name in any comments except those referring to you. My next statement may disappoint you dismally... NO, I am not Mike Jacobs!
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 08:36 AM
NoSense de Gespatcho... Do you realize your Valium has kicked in?!
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 08:40 AM
Deficient de Gespatcho... You're certifiably whacky!
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 08:54 AM
Poor Miserable Loner Daddy Eddie... We would gladly leave you alone if you'd take the job Putin offered you in Russia to fix his TOY! He'll even give you a sign-on bonus of $2,000 to make up for your troubles. Eddie.... I'm no more anonymous than you... Since your limited brain capacity affects your memory recall allow me to repeat that I have absolutely no affiliation with C4ND, Brookhaven Yes, Brookhaven Ballot Cmtee, any HOA, any activism group, etc... I'm not a donor cash-wise or in-kind to any of these groups or any NO group. I don't own a business nor do I intend to start one. Finally, I practice the belief of truth and honesty unlike you and your miscreant minions. Please copy & paste my comments in your NO CITY PLAYBOOK so that you can recall them.
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 08:58 AM
Goober de Gespatcho... I'm old enough to know that you can't "read" between the lines without swerving.
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 09:06 AM
There there Paternalistic Eddie... Your frequent use of the directive phrase "You should..." tells us a lot about your daddy-like ways! It should also be noted that several independent reviews mention the same about you... You pay yourself too high a compliment to say that you enlighten others... browbeat is the correct term!
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 09:13 AM
Wow Bossy Eddie... You'd be a great fiction novelist!
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 09:16 AM
'Tis true father Eddie... The grand fact that you and your miscreant minions have been in bed with DeKalb county the entire time!
Dr. Jeff July 29, 2012 at 09:20 AM
Thank goodness the lowest of them all (Miscreant Eddie) won't be running when the vote passes for YES.
Crayola July 29, 2012 at 11:34 AM
Amazing thread. And the only rule is not outing Anonymous posters? Can I ask why you have that rule? For instance what's wrong with leidentifying hamburger is Jim Eayer
not one of 60 July 29, 2012 at 12:04 PM
http://www.reporternewspapers.net/2012/07/28/newest-area-cities-are-still-smelling-like-roses/ Truth hurts MS IMLAY....
not one of 60 July 29, 2012 at 12:04 PM
Time for TEA with Mary E! LOL!
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 02:09 PM
Dr. Joke, I have never run for any office. If this passes, I'll move to my boat and lease my property to a halfway house for recovering addicts or gang members returning from prison. You should look into it, the demand from this area has been huge to the service providers and it appears there are many homeowners ready to take advantage of the new opportunities.
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 02:10 PM
In bed? This from a person who willingly sells out his neighbors to a parasitic contractor to make a buck. You certainly have no concept of moral behavior and clearly are in no position to enforce any notions you may have on others.
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 02:13 PM
Mark, Maybe you could work a deal with the County Commissioner from that area. Apparently she has the appropriate contributors list to pull it off and has absolutely no concern for Corps. Rules, DNR regs or the Law. Give her a call and since I know she will be too busy to make it she can send Bob.
Molly Brown July 29, 2012 at 03:12 PM
The Monday news cycle will have the alleged collusion between County and city opposition rolling on every channel by 4AM, and in time for noon and evening broadcasts. This story might even get +14 point type, above the fold, front page. Is it legal for any US government, State, local, or Federal, to lobby against the citizens right to self-determination? Just asking..... The well played announcement last Friday afternoon virtually denied any rebuttal. Except for Gannon, who handily tossed staffer Fox Davis under the bus and drove it over him. Poor guy.... Really.
Molly Brown July 29, 2012 at 03:14 PM
Not very nice, piling on is hard to resist, but unless you have proof, you have no right to say this.
Molly Brown July 29, 2012 at 03:19 PM
So there it is, a boat on personal property is a DeKalb residential code violation! Spite your neighbors, Eddie, nice! You are a swell, a reg'lar pipperoo.
Molly Brown July 29, 2012 at 03:22 PM
Property taxes are not the same as sales and use revenue taxes. Upon incorporation, DeKalb would lose some income from property taxes, but keeps the revenue tax. Why would the property tax on this modest building be a windfall for anyone?
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 05:07 PM
Molly Brown (or is that handle swiped from an old movie), The 'boat' has never been in Dekalb county and would not fit in the yard if I were so stupid as to try to move it here. But I guess since you guys are grabbing at straws, every piece gives you something to hold onto!
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 05:08 PM
Whoever it is, this is what the 50th person you have suggested so far. When you have lost, I guess you guys have to blame somebody.
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 05:10 PM
Molly, The interest in the 'ethics' charge has disappeared like a poot when the phone booth door is opened. However, there will be renewed concern in the For Profit Funders attempting to sell this bag of snakes and why they have the gall to attempt to question anyone's 'ethics'.
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 05:11 PM
There is more to 'revenue' than property taxes. Just ask Mikey!
Crayola July 29, 2012 at 05:18 PM
I wasn't saying it was Jim Eayer. Used that as a "for instance", as an example, for illustrative purposes. Please excuse the confusionnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
Eddie E. July 29, 2012 at 11:27 PM
Really, So since you have two different statements within a few hours, which one was a LIE?
Dr. Jeff July 30, 2012 at 12:47 AM
Excuse me old man!! I have said nothing about morals.... So, this much really touch an unresolved nerve in your decrepit mind. Neither I have sold out anyone! My neighbors are free to do as they like. Now you on the other hand are an unhinged miscreant who does nothing else in life but to shove his opinions upon others, whether they like it or not. You are a negative nelly finding fault in everyone and anything that does not support your sickening radical agenda. Stop the selling Eddie, because no one is interested in you pushing your morals upon us!
Dr. Jeff July 30, 2012 at 12:50 AM
The one that's a lie are those in your NO CITY PLAYBOOK, Miscreant Eddie.
HamBurger July 31, 2012 at 12:30 AM
What was your take-a-way from that two minute J. Max Davis spot on WSB? He appears to be a man obsessed with a sign . . . Go watch the video, how trite for someone wanting to create a new city! https://www.onlinefilefolder.com/2s55xD25VvTtU6 J. Max Davis is a man living in a fine neighborhood with their own swim club on a beautiful private lake. Really, it is a very nice area and it is not some place where you pay your 50¢ and you swim. Paying the going rate for membership in his club I seriously doubt he would ever visit one of DeKalb County’s parks with a pool. Yet, he did today for this WSB-TV news piece. And, he is clueless as to what is going on with Briarwood Park. He has absolutely no idea what those folks in Drew Valley and Brookhaven Fields are in the initial stages of planning for this park and clearly has no clue as to any of the recent renovations in the park performed by DeKalb County. Really, is this all he had? Brookhaven Yes’s J. Max Davis, a potential candidate for mayor, has absolutely no clue what is going on in Briarwood Park. He wants a new city? Please . . . Quick! Give me a Cheerwine and a special hamburger with extra yellow mustard!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something