.

Voting YES Benefits Everyone

The latest entry into The Forum responds to an opinion piece published on Monday, July 23.


One of the No City drumbeaters recently provided and who are struggling to maintain the DeKalb County status quo.

By using only the final sentence from a quoted statement by Dunwoody Mayor Mike Davis, she is perpetuating a falsehood. I will not make judgment regarding the motive of such misrepresentation. I will leave that for you to decide.

Dunwoody Mayor Mike Davis was one of the panelists at the recent town hall at Montgomery school on July 19. He was asked about the possibility of Dunwoody annexing prime commercial areas inside I-285 if Brookhaven fails to incorporate.

Mayor Davis explained that ‘Chamblee had annexed areas recently and said that high-value commercial property, such as Perimeter Summit, could draw interest from his city. His direct quote as reported in Brookhaven Reporter: “The money is in the commercial areas …” Mike Davis said. “That’s a winner for us. Do we want your neighborhoods? We’ll talk, but we’re really not interested in your neighborhoods.”

Read that quote again. Do you see anything in his answer that would justify No City distributing this false statement?

“Our neighbors have stood against scare tactics of annexation that are also false. The Brookhaven Reporter, July 19, quotes Dunwoody Mayor Mike Davis, “We are not interested in your neighborhoods.”

Ironically, by misrepresenting Mayor Davis’ quote, she reinforced what BrookhavenYES has been warning – that Dunwoody and Chamblee are not interested in more residential neighborhoods, but they are interested in annexing commercial property.

Here is what that means to you. If Brookhaven fails to incorporate, other cities will probably move to annex our prime commercial properties. (“The money is in the commercial areas …”).

As both mayors said, they do not want your neighborhood.

It is simple economics – houses alone do not generate enough tax to be attractive for cities.  If Brookhaven’s commercial zones are lost to other cities, Brookhaven will never be able to incorporate to climb out of the status quo.

And when we lose the commercial tax base that makes us a ‘donor community’ to DeKalb, we will quickly realize that DeKalb is not interested in our neighborhood either; and we will be just a distant expense for the county. We’ll have no local representation or voting bloc to affect change. We will be stuck.

Regarding the rest of her letter, she asks, "Why the rush?” Answer: because our commercial base will become Brookhaven or will be lost to another city after July 31. DeKalb has proven they are not interested in our neighborhoods and now Dunwoody and Chamblee have told us too.

She mentions ‘seniors on fixed incomes’ and young people just starting their families.’ Hello? Brookhaven cityhood will benefit everyone in the city. We all need better services and more police patrols too.

She mentions DeKalb did not raise the millage rate last week. But DeKalb can raise taxes anytime at their whim because they have no millage cap and they don’t need our approval to increase tax. Brookhaven will have a millage cap (3.35 mills) that can’t be raised unless voters approve. She assumes Brookhaven would begin on day one at its millage cap, but she fails to mention that Sandy Springs, Dunwoody, Johns Creek, Milton – all started below their cap and have stayed below their cap.

One more quote from the Montgomery School town hall meeting, this one from Johns Creek Mayor Mike Bodker: “I come down to Brookhaven, there’s so much emotion, I’m not sure whether I’m going to get egged or patted on the back,” he said.

It’s obvious to most of us the [rotten] eggs flying through the air our city are from the desperate No City crowd who are defending their precious DeKalb status quo at all costs, including their own integrity.

Voting YES for Brookhaven is the ‘pat on the back’ for our opportunity for local control and more efficient services including more police patrols, better parks, better road maintenance, and zoning and code enforcement, which will benefit all of us young and older.

Clayton Conarro

Non Sequitur July 25, 2012 at 01:13 AM
Well said, Bill. But what about those of us with no patch? A particularly unkempt "ex-friend with benefits" inspired me to shave my whole body on a regular basis. "Hairlessness is next to Godliness."
Georgia Patch July 25, 2012 at 01:14 AM
Non, You've been deleted.
Non Sequitur July 25, 2012 at 01:16 AM
Oh, I forgot . . . Vote Y ****** user deleted ******
Bill Lowe July 25, 2012 at 01:24 AM
As far as non-furry bipeds go. Tough call. Aliens or a more evolved human. Definitely a tough call. If peeps were to be deleted, they would have been yanked a long time ago. Some were yanked recently, but that was because of an uprising sent them scurrying for fresh identities. We do hope that Dr. Jeff will determine what is wrong with not one of 60 before it goes poof. Please allow enough time to figure that one out.
IWillBrookNoBrookhaven July 25, 2012 at 01:25 AM
Thank you, Georgia Patch! I was beginning to think this was not a moderated forum. I agree that it's been getting completely out of hand. I know there is much to keep track of, here, but I implore you to stay vigilant come down on the abuses with a heavy hand!
IWillBrookNoBrookhaven July 25, 2012 at 01:27 AM
And as a test of your resolve, let me add . . . YANK THIS!
HamBurger July 25, 2012 at 01:35 AM
Mr. Eric, I only post as Mr. HamBurger, you know that. My identity has nothing to do with the unwarranted harassment of another by Mr. Dean or others. By the way, there is a woman (I think she is Hispanic) not too far from you that would love to trim your banana plants, she uses the leaves in some of her cooking as wraps. Please pass the yellow mustard!
Mary La Pannea July 25, 2012 at 02:19 AM
"Gypsies, tramps, and thieves. . ." y'all are so droll... DeKalb apologizers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOSZwEwl_1Q
Eric H July 25, 2012 at 03:41 AM
Who saw Lewis Black on the Daily Show tonight do a funny job of skewering the Mitt and folks for totally taking the President's comment out of context and running with it on an ad. He ribbed both sides. But its amazing, it makes our discussions look down right transparent and honest.
Eric H July 25, 2012 at 03:46 AM
creepy. So anyway the discussion of Brookhaven NY by you and cranium were just a coincidence? Ok. You know if you post anonymously you shouldn't really get offended. Think about it. You are anonymous.
The Incomparable Ainsley Jarvis July 25, 2012 at 03:58 AM
No honey, I'm drool.
Pollfacts July 25, 2012 at 04:23 AM
Real poll- Yes 57% - No 43%
Pollfacts July 25, 2012 at 05:41 AM
Dean did not retract and Hamburger did not address.
Dr. Jeff July 25, 2012 at 06:22 AM
VOTE WISEST!! VOTE YES!!!
Carol Johnson July 25, 2012 at 07:31 AM
Hamburger that assertion about Dunwoody needing tax base is pretty far off the range of reality. You might want to take a look at their financials. http://www.dunwoodyga.gov/Departments/Finance_Administration/Accounting_Reporting.aspx
Tim Darnell (Editor) July 25, 2012 at 11:22 AM
We encourage users to debate the issues on Brookhaven Patch as rigorously as they choose. However, speculation about other users' identities is not part of the debate. Patch will make the sole determination as to whether content is acceptable under our Terms of Service. Also, Patch has sole capability for revoking a user's status.
HamBurger July 25, 2012 at 01:10 PM
Ms. Carol, Dunwoody is living within the budget they have. That does not mean they do not have needs well beyond their current income. Hence, the reason for their interest in the Lake Hearn/Perimeter Summit property and not any inside the perimeter residential property. Another voice: “While it is inevitable that Dunwoody will one day have its own Fire department, now is not the time. We still need to build our police force up and expand our court system. In addition, there is still a lot of work to be done on our roads and places like Brook Run Park need some upgrading as well. Lastly, until this current city council can operate in a professional fashion and put all of this "leak" business behind them (or we vote in a new council), I don`t think they should make any decisions that involve significant amounts of money.” Some reading for you: Dunwoody police ‘model,’ budget, should not be replicated http://tinyurl.com/cchve38 Dunwoody police chief says more officers are needed http://tinyurl.com/cfk9w63 Dunwoody Police Department – Staffing Recommendations http://tinyurl.com/bq4fg3m TOD – Brookhaven Police Department http://tinyurl.com/72esjog “Take a few moments and read the recommendations for yourself. Then ponder what it really means in the context of Brookhaven.” http://tinyurl.com/7rjpykb Man! No food more than 24 hours old don’t work here! We cook’em fresh per order, you know special hamburgers!
HDM July 25, 2012 at 01:42 PM
Letters to the editor by the leader of the NOCity DeKalb Democrat bureacracy backers aren't viable, Ms. Cobb.
Eddie E. July 25, 2012 at 02:48 PM
Carol, Let's not let reality interfere, as we all know Dunwoody is the center of efficiency and fiscal harmony of the universe, I hear that money just grows from the rented plants in the rented city hall tended by the rented 'employees'. If we could all be like Dunwoody as the old country song says 'drinkin' that free bubble-up and eatin' that rainbow stew'! But here in the real world services cost and governments must (horrors!) collect taxes to pay for them, unless they can steal property from across the line and provide inadequate services for artificially low taxes.
Sparrow Cutlet July 25, 2012 at 03:22 PM
Lol somebody got sloppy. Is that burger fan a sock puppet? Grindhouse inflating its own reviews? The restaurant received a slew of rave-reviews on Wednesday. Generally sock puppets are a great annoyance. A sockpuppet is an online identity used for purposes of deception. The term—a reference to the manipulation of a simple hand puppet made from a sock—originally referred to a false identity assumed by a member of an internet community who spoke to, or about himself while pretending to be another person.[1] The term now includes other uses of misleading online identities, such as those created to praise, defend or support a third party or organization,[2] or to circumvent a suspension or ban from a website. A significant difference between the use of a pseudonym[3] and the creation of a sockpuppet is that the sockpuppet poses as an independent third-party unaffiliated with the puppeteer.
HamBurger July 25, 2012 at 04:09 PM
Ms. Joe her, pay attention, Mr. HamBurger has spoken regarding the best hamburger issue: http://tinyurl.com/ce6rewo LOL, No one got sloppy, Mr. Eric had a hard time making the connection between two pro-city ballot committees so I just agreed with him. Clearly another informed individual decided to have fun with him. I will let others play the sock puppet game. Cheerwine and a special hamburger?
Sparrow Cutlet July 25, 2012 at 04:35 PM
OMG, LOL, that makes sooooooo much sense. ha ha. Those drippings aren't grease, they're sarcasm
HamBurger July 25, 2012 at 05:11 PM
Ms. Joe her, it is a pleasure watching you enjoy yourself on the forums today, and an honor to be your opening act. This is for you. If you prefer something non-alcoholic, just pretend it is Cheerwine . . . http://tinyurl.com/d2l5xpv Special hamburger to go with that video?
Sparrow Cutlet July 25, 2012 at 06:01 PM
Cool vid, perhaps a tad smug?
Sparrow Cutlet July 25, 2012 at 06:31 PM
Or is pretentious more appropriate?
HamBurger July 25, 2012 at 07:56 PM
Smug? Pretentious? Ms. Joe her, that would be you. This gentleman has extreme confidence! All teasing aside, an exceptionally good piece of video. Please pass the yellow mustard!
Enuff Govt Already July 25, 2012 at 08:36 PM
Dean, did you cut and paste from that officer's blog? A number of the posters there id themselves as officers for the precinct seem to refute the analysis. One even asked why only 4 watch sheets were shown when several hundred were obtained from an open records request. The watch sheet organization model is used by many industries. My example, waiter 1 is assigned section"A" and waiter 2 is assigned section"B". Waiter 1 is also expected to assist with service in section "B". There is no wall separating them. Also on the watch sheets, the day sheet for Oct 2 has 4 officers circled but not the 2 officers in the adjoining territory (an increase of 2) and in the right hand column it showed 2 on vac/hol and 2 on sickdays. Would those officers have raised the personnel working to 10? And for the watch sheet next to it titled "morning", there are 4 officers circled, 2 listed in the adjoining territory and then 4 more listed under "special" and 3 in the right hand column for sick/vac. My count gives them 10 and under perfect conditions 13. The officers listed as 151 and 152 I did not count as I understand they are assigned to the Pleasantdale Rd area. On another rebuttal post on the blog it broke down the number of personnel assigned to the precinct as 96. The proposed city is to have 8 or 9, says who? The meeting in May the number was 7. So why is the number now 8 or 9? I believe your analysis of the police is wrong and I believe downgrading police service is dangerous; NO thanks.
Felix November 23, 2012 at 07:53 AM
Buy GW2 Gold and start to save money! http://www.gw2gw2.com/gold.html Guild Wars 2 Gold | Cheap Guild Wars 2 Gold all from professional game currency studio! Safe and secure.Want to Buy Guild Wars 2 Gold Cheap, Fast and Safe? We have GW2 Gold with best price. Safe GW2 Power Leveling All by skilled veterans!All Guild Wars 2 Gold on US servers can be provided in full stock. http://www.gw2gw2.com/gold.html cheap GW2 Gold | Whenever you need gw2 gold, you can buy gw2 gold from our safe online store.Cheapest Guild Wars2 Gold, GW2 Gold for sale. Fastest Guild Wars2 Gold Delivery, 100% Customer Satisfaction! Mmopowerlevels offers the safe and most reliable service, http://www.gw2gw2.com/gold.html gw2 gold | here can be available at the cheapest prices.
Felix November 23, 2012 at 07:54 AM
Come to the excellent Diablo 3 Gold store to buy Diablo 3 Gold, http://www.d3fly.com/gold.html diablo gold | Diablo 3 CDKey and Diablo 3 Power Leveling with the best delivery service. http://www.d3fly.com/gold.html Diablo3 Gold | Buy Diablo 3 gold from Bankofd3.com which provide the safe and fast D3 service,24/7 online for you!besides,we offer you the favorable Diablo 3 gold service!Click our webiste, you can get the cheapest Diablo 3 items. The new clients can join our favourable activities. http://www.d3fly.com/gold.html Buy Diablo 3 Gold | We can guarantee your pravacy, accounts security and instant purchase. Buy Diablo 3 Gold for US servers with Fast delivery. Cheap Diablo 3 Gold for sale is waiting for you!
Felix November 23, 2012 at 07:55 AM
Stop look around to Buy WoW Gold and Wrath of the lich king Gold now, http://www.tobuywowgold.com/Product/Gold wow gold | we will never let you down!Cheap wow gold, Welcome to World of Warcraft Gold website! If you have Sell WOW Gold/FFXI Gil/GW Plants you can contact us. http://www.tobuywowgold.com/Product/Gold cheap gold for wow | Welcome to WoWGold, fastest, and safest WOW Gold anywhere on the planet and it doesn't get any easier!professional site for wow gold selling,You can buy WOW Gold, http://www.tobuywowgold.com/Product/Gold cheap safe wow gold | 6Years Cheapest Wow Gold Us Selling Experience, 24/7Hour Live Chat Support.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something