.

'Brookhaven Is Already A Well-Known Brand'

In this latest entry in The Forum, the writer says that the existing brand of Brookhaven is alive and well without cityhood.


The recent editorial that the proposed City of Brookhaven would build a brand for Brookhaven was almost amusing.

It appears that Mike Jacobs and his YES neighbors seem to have stronger feelings about the name than the city itself.

Brookhaven has existed for over 110 years and already is a powerful and well known brand. You can ask almost any person in the greater northern Atlanta area and they know exactly where Brookhaven is located. And it is not Murphy-Candler or Buford Highway, nor should it be. Most people in Atlanta will never go to these two diverse areas to shop or eat, even if they get named Brookhaven.

The editorial also mentions housing values. Those in Murphy-Candler might go up considerably but those along the Buford Highway will never go up and those in the actual or real Brookhaven area will probably go down.

Speaking of numbers - without a Perimeter Mall and Perimeter Center as a huge tax base, the tax projections in the UGA study for the proposed city of Brookhaven are very suspect. The proposed city of Brookhaven does not have anywhere near the commercial tax base that Dunwoody has. 

Furthermore, does anyone really think, for example, that the cost of fire protection or other services contracted from DeKalb County to the new city will not increase?

The existing Brookhaven brand is alive and well but I fear that it will be diminished by the proposed new city which has no commonality from end to end. Coca-Cola would never walk down that type of road. 

Peter Landt

not one of 60 May 22, 2012 at 06:31 PM
The main part of city hood is not "another layer of government" scare tactic that people keep saying over and over until it is a dead horse. Good stretgy BTW! So it's like AL GPRE and creating the interent! The problem is that voters research things! AND see how their tax dollars are not being wisely used! One can only look at the Dekalb schools functionings! TAX dollars will stay local in the Community versus shifting it to Where-ever Dekalb Commissioners want to send or spend it! IF NOT Provide 2 things: 1. Township Status: for local control of zoning (in other words: take way the power from south Dekalb legioslature for Brookhaven Decisions, and keep it local) 2. A CID for the whole area....(in other words keep local dollars local; for local improvements) And guess why this will never happen: Loss of power and money! Also Peachtree From Clairmont to Club Drvie is pretty vast! Not to mention Johnsferry/Ashford Dunwoody to 285. North Druid Hills @ Peachtreee! So many places to choose from. 50K+ is not a small area to serve! 1.Paved roads! 2. Sidewalks 3. Improved parks and open space Keep future decsions local: zoning/land use/improvements! Or stay the same! Would you want yoru Neighbor POA controlled by someone from Lithonia, who does not live in the Community. That's what it is today....
not one of 60 May 22, 2012 at 06:38 PM
Odd! Amusing! Crazy tlak! "No city slogans". Oh please, my dear, not another layer of government! Where people actaully may WORK; & do something to improve a Community! OH MY not ethics! OH MY: not newly paved streets or new sidewalks with barriers trees and medians separating people from traffic! OH MY not lcoal control of zoning and planning with good policy! Give it up! Anti city folks haters of all improvements and keeping local control. Give up your HOA/POA to a Lithonia resident! Smart thinking! That is what it is!
not one of 60 May 22, 2012 at 06:44 PM
Instead, DeKalb raised taxes by 26%. http://www.ajc.com/news/dekalb/how-dekalb-wound-up-1016946.html For 2012... 6% drop in the tax digest overall in the county http://www.ajc.com/news/dekalb/dekalb-appraisals-drop-by-1431259.html We know our sewer rates have increased by 11% http://dunwoodynow.com/dunwoody-news/dekalb/13464-dekalb-water-sewer-rates-to-increase-11-percent-in-2012/ We know that our sanitation fees are going up or our services are dropping http://www.thecrier.net/news/local_news/article_d8c136dc-de14-11e0-a79d-001cc4c03286.html We know that our school taxes are probably going up...or at least that they are facing a $70 M deficit... http://www.ajc.com/news/dekalb/dekalb-schools-facing-70-1442996.html So the county's response is naturally to increase spending in the budget by over 2% rather than offer a tax break, add 68 employees to bring the total to 5,608 and jack fees up all across the board. http://www.thecrier.net/news/article_687a29e0-67a0-11e1-b6dd-001871e3ce6c.html We know your homes are dropping in value and that you are being bled from all ends, but we're going to increase spending by 2% anyway....It's a complete slap in the face to the residents and businesses in this county. All residents in the county should be appalled and clamoring for the right to put a cap on the millage rate.
HDM May 22, 2012 at 06:45 PM
This diatribe mentions Perimeter area commercial tax base, I guess he forgot to actually do research on the subject because while Dunwoody's portion is appraised at around $220mil the Brookhaven portion will be right at $200mil
HamBurger May 22, 2012 at 07:09 PM
Mr. Dean, respectfully, I don’t see it. Pull up an aerial map of the Perimeter area and overlay a map of the new city. The dollars you speak of are skewed for the Brookhaven portion. Hey man, you need to sharpen that knife if you are going to thin slice some onions!
not one of 60 May 22, 2012 at 07:31 PM
IF ONLY! Something Dekalb would neither solicit nor provide: Customer Care! This is from a real place where they care about professionalism: WE WANT YOUR OPINION OF OUR SERVICE The Sandy Springs Community Development Department is determined to offer our customers the highest possible level of service. Please take our online survey and tell us your opinion. Your feedback will help us to develop our partnership with you as we build a better city together.
HDM May 22, 2012 at 07:33 PM
The assessed value of the Perimeter CID (Community Improvement District) that includes Perimeter Mall and Perimeter Center, is valued at $222 million. The portion of the PCID inside I-285 that would be in Brookhaven, with fewer, but taller buildings is valued right at $200 million.
HDM May 22, 2012 at 07:35 PM
This is just one example of a topic that Hamburger and the other anti-Brookhaven posters here post as fact which isn't true at all. Hamburger, stick to the truth please, starting with your identity, if you really want to have an honest discussion.
HamBurger May 22, 2012 at 08:25 PM
Mr. Dean, I do not have the 2012 DeKalb Tax Digest, but according to the 2011 tax digest, the total Perimeter CID value was $842,732,095.00. So what is the Dunwoody Crier article you quote from really saying? The small Lake Hearn/Perimeter Summit portion of the PCID, even with high rise buildings is valued at how much? Anyone have a better PCID break-out? Please pass the yellow mustard!
HDM May 22, 2012 at 08:30 PM
Burger, you do remember that part of the Perimeter CID is Fulton?
Kim Gokce May 22, 2012 at 08:32 PM
RANT WARNING: The following is an unfiltered and emotional response - your mission was accomplished. The yes/no debate has simply served to bring to the public dialog what I already knew: everyone can tell you where Brookhaven starts but no one can tell you where it ends. We need to get over the "perceptions" of what and where Brookhaven is and realize it is where we live. Rich/poor and any ethnicity, we all live, shop, work and play in the same parks, cafes, coffee shops, and grocery stores. If anyone doesn't realize this fact, they are grossly mis-informed and/or blind. I have passed over twenty-five years haunting "Brookhaven" - from flipping hamburgers at the poolside grill at the Capital City Club to coaching YMCA soccer at Cross Keys HS, to clearing brush from Brookhaven Park, to helping direct traffic at Ashford Park's "Bolt" every year. I personally know people who lived in Peachtree Garden Apts (pre-dated Town Brookhaven) and how that impacted their lives, I visited elderly in Brookhaven Fields when it was better known as part of "Crookhaven." I have crawled the underpasses of Briarwood Road, Corporate Blvd and elsewhere with North Precinct officers. I have volunteered at Ashford Park Elementary, Path Academy, Woodward Elementary, Montclair Elementary, Dresden Elementary, and Cross Keys High School. I mentor young people who themselves are mentors at the Brookhaven Boys and Girls club. ... continued rant ...
HamBurger May 22, 2012 at 08:41 PM
Uh, Mr. Dean, I am talking about the DeKalb County Tax Digest . . . Which would only have the PCID that is in DeKalb . . . What are you talking about? We can put a new city of Brookhaven in Fulton if you like, but let’s wait till next year to fight that battle . . . Please pass the yellow mustard!
HDM May 22, 2012 at 08:43 PM
Agreed Kim, regardless of the name this plot of land is our home, this part of the cityhood debate is irrelevant.
Kim Gokce May 22, 2012 at 08:50 PM
...cont... I see those "non-Brookhaven" young people from Buford Hwy working at every retail operation in the entire proposed area. I see them working at the Cowart YMCA. I see them volunteering all over the area, too. They enjoy Yoforia Yogurt, Library Coffee (not for long), McDonald's, Galla's, Dresden Waffle House, Verde, and a hundred other businesses in or near the "real Brookhaven." I see them walking and running along Peachtree, North Druid Hills, and Lenox Blvd. I see them playing volleyball at Brookhaven Boys and Girls Club (formerly Brookhaven Elementary). Exactly how are these children NOT part of your community sir? (rhetorical, please don't answer). --RANT OUT--
Kim Gokce May 22, 2012 at 08:56 PM
I will ask this to the author regarding this ... please define what the boundaries are of the "actual or real Brookhaven?" ---snippnet--- "in the actual or real Brookhaven area will probably go down."
not one of 60 May 22, 2012 at 09:11 PM
Wow - very well stated. I think a community is about more building bridges than roadblocks, both figurtively and literally. And the most important component is that it be managed well, fairly mamanged and best by the community members-at-large: those who live work & play here. Not Developers and their cronies in the zoning and land use arena what this is really all about!
not one of 60 May 22, 2012 at 09:16 PM
Side note: The Brookhaven Historic Posts were put hoisted this weekend! Ver nice and large indeed! That may be more of wht the anit-city movement is about actually....sadly too! To say that lcoal control and local funds stay local is another layer of gov't really does not fly when you are really saying: "Buford Hwy can't be part of Brookhaven"!
Laventure Forester May 22, 2012 at 09:48 PM
It is funny that you mention Dresden Elementary since all of the neighborhoods surrounding that school were inexplicably left out of the Brookhaven club...
Deborah Anthony May 22, 2012 at 11:59 PM
Kim Gokce, you make a great point about defining the Brookhaven community. The community is many things and includes many people. I took Mr. Landt to mean we do not need to create a city with artificial boundaries to define the community. (Maybe that's just what I wanted to hear.) I like that the Brookhaven coummunity is located in Fulton and DeKalb counties. I love being able to walk to MARTA and ride downtown, to the airport, to Perimeter Mall, etc. Between Dresden Avenue and the Peachtree/Dresden intersections, we can walk to a number of great restaurants. I love the array of eating, shopping and people-watching on nearby Buford Highway and Peachtree Boulevard. What I do not like is roping a specific area into artificial city limits without regard to the existing jurisdictions of DeKalb and Fulton (and the City of Atlanta). I like being part of DeKalb County (north and south, east and west), and think we have a pretty good life here. Now that I've done some ranting (or rambling in my case) - even though you said you were ranting, it was a great rant, and I appreciate your contribution!
not one of 60 May 23, 2012 at 04:25 AM
The Fulton side is north buckhead....not sure where she is getting that info from. North buckhead civic association.....google it
Kim Gokce May 23, 2012 at 04:41 AM
The Historic Neighborhood of Brookhaven does span over into Fulton.
Kim Gokce May 23, 2012 at 05:09 AM
See US Park Service boundaries for HBNA with my added red highlight showing Fulton/DeKalb: http://ubuntuone.com/25gQehqkrVcMnXoxgupAbK
Kim Gokce May 23, 2012 at 05:10 AM
"North Buckhead" is the communities west of Peachtree Dunwoody.
HamBurger May 23, 2012 at 01:30 PM
Mr. Kim, the only exception I take to this NPS map is that it ignores the Oglethorpe area. Granted, its Peachtree Road exposure is brief from say from Town Brookhaven to Ashford Dunwoody with the focal point being Oglethorpe University. Oglethorpe had its own train station. The old #23 trolley route ended at Oglethorpe which was a wide spot in the road in front of Patterson’s for turning around and a gravel area for parking trackside. This continued under MARTA until the route was extended. The entire area was much more fluid prior to the MARTA train line as there were several places to cross the railroad along Peachtree Road. It is just a little thing, but an example of how we tend to obscure our history. Interesting that history sometimes ignores history . . . Please pass the yellow mustard!
Kim Gokce May 23, 2012 at 01:48 PM
HamBurger: The map includes all of Oglethorpe University and goes over to Ashford-Dunwoody Road stopping before House Plantation, aka Peachtree Golf Club. Is that the area you are referring to??? Regarding Oglethorpe, yes, I have had old-timers from Cross Keys tell me that they "left Brookhaven to go to Oglethorpe" to pick up the Atlanta trolley. Times have indeed changed! I'll have mine with swiss and pickles.
Shandon May 23, 2012 at 05:35 PM
Are these maps final because they all just say "proposed." I have a hard time understanding how the deicions were made on where to zone as my next door neighbor appears within the zone yet we are not. Parkridge Crescent (where we are) vs 8th and Parkridge Drive/Ringle. Will this incorporation impact the schools where we are slated to send our children? Ashford Park elementary is literally blocks from our house so I certainly hope it doesn't change anything there.
Kim Gokce May 25, 2012 at 12:32 PM
Shandon: The map approved by ther state for the July 31 vote is final. If you are not currently in city of Chamblee, you are in the proposed boundaries. I know Ashford Park and Parkridge abutt Chamblee but basically anything west of clairmont that isn't already in Chamblee, would bee in the proposed Brookhaven. As for you ES, DeKalb Schools operate 100% independently of municipalities and are not directly affected I'm any way. Go Ashford Park Eagles!
Max May 25, 2012 at 02:31 PM
Then you remember 'Brookhaven Bobby,' and that the adjective 'blighted' used to precede Brookhaven before all the tony townhomes were built. You may recall the Red Dot, Original Pancake House 'mom' that served coffee with a smile while you waited, and that SunTrust was Trust Company and before it moved across Peachtree. Yep, $265 got you a three bedroom apartment at Peachtree Gardens, plus all the free entertainment you could want, the Standard Club had not yet moved to exurbia in a brilliant Charlie Brown, actual name, deal. There was Norge Town! And somebody said you could cop a nickel bag in Lynwood. A real collection of memories, each more poignant than the last. In twenty years what will the memories become?
Max May 25, 2012 at 02:46 PM
More on a sense of place. t You see it is easy to point to a CVI Study and say, "well, it won't work or it will work," or observe other new cities and conclude, "well, that's not us," or "Gee, we can be like that." Defining a sense of place is what occurs when people choose local government and that is easily overlooked. With that choice comes the responsibility of being a cooperative part of the larger metropolis, being able to deliver the 'goods' as promised, and then reaping the reward of a defined community. As it is now, the cumulative ruminations and recollections of folks define Brookhaven, save for the truly historic Old Brookhaven. To some, a sense of place has no value, to others, it is paramount. If it isn't important to you, then look at the 'hard' facts. Just do yourself a favor, stretch beyond Patch and do your own due diligence, explore the pro's and con's, and for goodness sake VOTE. Screw the pickles, onions, and hamburgers, I'm going straight for a Bloody Mary.
Max May 25, 2012 at 02:52 PM
Finally, a shout out from Tea Party to Kim Gokce who's blithe comments on GoDeKalb.com always defused passionate discourse. A good and civic minded person whom I have never met!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something